Friday, March 25, 2011

The Scarlet Pimpernel Disambiguated

So come to find out there are really 18 Scarlet Pimpernel books and Baroness Orczy wrote a ton of other novels as well! I was really confused when I was reading The Elusive Pimpernel and it became clear that El Dorado hadn't happened yet. So here is they all are in "reading order" (chronological within the story, not in the order Orczy wrote them) to help you out.

These first two novels are about the Scarlet Pimpernel’s ancestors:
The Laughing Cavalier (1913)

The First Sir Percy (1920)

Then we have the main block of Scarlet Pimpernel stories:
The Scarlet Pimpernel (play 1903, novel 1905)
Sir Percy Leads the Band (1936)
The League of the Scarlet Pimpernel (1919)
I Will Repay (1906)
The Elusive Pimpernel (1908)
Eldorado (1913)
Mam'zelle Guillotine (1940)
Lord Tony's Wife (1917)
The Way of the Scarlet Pimpernel (1933)
Sir Percy Hits Back (1927)
Adventures of the Scarlet Pimpernel (1929)
The Triumph of the Scarlet Pimpernel (1922)
A Child of the Revolution (1932)

Finally, these last three books are about (or “written” by) the Scarlet Pimpernel’s descendants:
The Pimpernel and Rosemary (1924)
The Life and Exploits of the Scarlet Pimpernel (1938)
The Scarlet Pimpernel Looks at the World (1933)

Well, I hope that helps you, and it looks like I'm going to be reading about the Scarlet Pimpernel for a very long time. I'm so excited. Thank you, Baroness Orczy, for writing so much! Also, there's a super Scarlet Pimpernel everything website that includes electronic versions of all the books: Check it out.

No comments: